Are ASHA CCC's Required?

Are ASHA Certificates of Clinical Competence Required?

ASHA CCC’s stands for the Certificate of Clinical Competence in Speech-Language Pathology, awarded by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA). This certification is recognized across the United States as a standard of excellence in the field. However, it’s important to note that while the CCC credential is highly valued, it does not dictate where a speech-language pathologist (SLP) is allowed to practice.

In the United States, SLPs with ASHA CCC’s have the flexibility to work in various settings, including a school setting. Advancements in technology have successfully allowed SLPs (and other related service professionals) to provide services remotely across state lines. This is a benefit to both students and schools, especially in underserved communities.

However, while the ASHA Certification (CCC) signifies a level of expertise and competence in the field, there are only three states that require it for state licensure- Nevada, Virginia and Maryland. In addition, there are only 11 states that require the CCC certification for Medicaid Billing (MI, DC, NC, WV, KY, MN, NE, KS, NM, NV, ID). State licensure and/or educational credentialing continues to remain the most important criteria for SLPs working in schools.

What does this mean for schools? As SLPs across the country become increasingly frustrated with their national association (ASHA), administrators may observe more and more SLPs dropping their ASHA CCC’s as it’s not a requirement for work. Therapists who hold an active, valid license in the state where they reside as well as the state where students reside, may be sufficient.

Get free content.

No spam. Just notifications for our online articles.

Lighthouse Therapy LLC BBB Business Review

Corpus Christi, Texas 78418



Copyright © 2024 Lighthouse Therapy. All Rights Reserved.